allowance of \$1,000 and each member receives an allowance of 25 cents per mile of the distance between his place of residence and the city of Victoria, reckoning such distance, going and coming, according to the nearest mail route. Each member also receives an allowance of \$500 for telegraph and telephone expenses. In addition, the Premier receives a salary of \$20,000 and each member of the Executive Council a salary of \$17,500. The Leader of the Opposition receives a special allowance of \$7,500 for expenses, the Speaker receives a special allowance of \$7,500, and the Deputy Speaker a special allowance of \$2,500.

32.—Legislatures of British Columbia, 1945-66, as at Oct. 21, 1966

Norg.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 83; for 1924-37 in the 1938 edition, p. 118; and for 1938-45 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 91.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Oct. 25, 1945 June 15, 1949 June 12, 1952 June 9, 1953 Sept. 19, 1956 Sept. 12, 1960 Sept. 30, 1963 Sept. 12, 1966	21st	5 4 4 4 3 1	Feb. 21, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 3, 1953 Sept. 15, 1963 Feb. 7, 1957 Jan. 26, 1961 Jan. 23, 1964	Apr. 16, 1949 Apr. 10, 1952 Mar. 27, 1953 Aug. 13, 1956 Aug. 3, 1960 Aug. 21, 1963 Aug. 5, 1966

¹ Not yet in session by Oct. 21, 1966.

33.—Twenty-eighth Ministry of British Columbia, as at Oct. 21, 1966

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 12, 1966; 33 Social Credit, 16 New Democratic Party and 6 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Finance	Hob. William Andrew Cecil Bennett	Aug. 1, 1952	Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Feb. 15, 1954
Welfare	Hon. Wesley Drewett Black	Aug. 1, 1952	Aug. 1, 1952 Mar. 20, 1959
Attorney-General and Minister of Com- mercial Transport. Minister of Lands, Forests, and Water	Hon. Robert William Bonner	Aug. 1, 1952	(Aug. 1, 1952 (Mar. 20, 1964
Resources. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mines and Petroleum Resources. Minister of Highways. Minister of Labour and Minister of Educa-	Hon. Ray Gillis Williston Hon. Francis Xavier Richter Hon. Donald Leslis Brothers Hon. Philip Arthur Gaglardi	Apr. 14, 1954 Nov. 28, 1960 Mar. 20, 1964 Aug. 1, 1952	Nov. 28, 1960
tion. Minister of Industrial Development, Trade,	Hon, Leslie Raymond Peterson.	Sept. 27, 1956	Nov. 28, 1960
and Commerce Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. Ralph Raymond Loffmark Hon. Daniel Robert John	Mar. 20, 1964	Mar. 20, 1964
Minister of Health Services and Hospital	Самрвец	Mar. 20, 1964	Mar. 20, 1964
Insurance	Hon, Eric Charles Fitzgerald Martin Hon, William Neelands Chant Hon, William Kenneth Kiebnan	Aug. 1, 1952 Mar. 15, 1955 Aug. 1, 1952	Mar. 20, 1959 Mar. 15, 1955 Mar. 20, 1964

Subsection 11.—Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon was created a separate Territory on June 13, 1898 (see p. 82). Provision is made for a local government administered by a Commissioner appointed by the Governor in Council. There is an elected Council of seven members (1961) which usually meets twice a year in Whitehorse, the seat of local government; the Council elects its own speaker. The Commissioner administers the government under